Newman installed -g results in VSCode error: Cannot find module 'newman'

If npm and newman are installed from a WSL Debian Distro, I then do a “code .” from the wsl command line and open the Visual Studio interface, how can I make those packages visible by the node scripts running in visual studio? Currently via the terminal in Visual Studio and the WSL command line all users, package versions and library locations look the same. However, when I run a node script with “const newman = require(‘newman’);” I am getting the "Cannot find module.

As recommended, newman was installed with the -g option.

Thanks,
Jill

Hey @JillLancaster,

If you’re using Newman in a script, you would need to create a package.json file for that project, if you haven’t already, then install that module using this command:

npm install -S newman

This will install the node_modules and add an entry under the dependencies in the package.json file.

Danny,

Thanks for the response. I am a Newbie to nodejs, npm, wsl and visual studio (about 4 months of sporadic use). For that reason I am trying to log in detail
the environment set up so that it can be consistently repeated by myself and others in the future. By doing that I am hoping to avoid the issues I have been running into with the reporters not being found. Thanks for bearing with me on all the questions.

I am confused as to what the steps should have been when using a combination of WSL, debian linux distro, Node, Visual Studio, and Newman. My confusion is
how to share the newman which I installed in the distro with visual studio and why the currently installed one does not get recognized. Several of the documentation links on npm mentioned installing any package you would use as a command with the –g option.
The –g option should make the package available for all directories for that user, correct? When I install node in WSL Visual Studio is aware of it.