Postman Windows app vs Postman web interface

I am new to Postman.

1. I have workspace, and a collection within that workspace. Using the Windows app, I have defined two variables in the workspace. I cannot figure out how to see these variables through the Postman web interface.

2. I have placed an image file in my %HOMEPATH%/Postman/files folder. How can I see this file through the web interface? (I assume the image file is sync’ed to my Postman account.)

Thank you so much.

Hi @sabuncu,

Welcome to the Community :wave:

If you’re starting, I’d recommend going through the Getting Started and concepts section of the documentation to help address the questions you have. I’ve linked them at the end.

Regarding your two points:

1. I cannot figure out how to see these variables through the Postman web interface.

Did you create them in an Environment template? You should be able to see them in the Web Interface by clicking on the Workspace and then Environment:

1. This seems like you are talking about the Working directory set up here. You should be able to get information about that here: https://learning.postman.com/docs/postman/launching-postman/settings/ scroll down, and the section is Working Directory

When you work with files in form-data request body and binary file body, save them in this directory to let Postman persist your file’s path relative to the working directory. This means your files loaded from within the working directory run smoothly across devices if other users use the same files on their devices.

P.S: https://learning.postman.com/concepts/ and https://learning.postman.com/getting-started/ are great starting points to help navigate the documentation and explain some of the concepts.

Hopefully, this helps as a starting point.

1 Like

No, because documentation says:
Don’t use environment variables if you only have one environment . Use collection variables.