Different Data Fields for Different Requests

I am new to Postman, and have a question about using data files for collections with multiple requests.

I saw:

Is It able to run difference requests with different data files in one Collection? - :person_raising_hand: Help - Postman Community
How to read data from two csv files for two different requests in same collection? - :person_raising_hand: Help - Postman Community

but neither fully answered my question.

Suppose I have a collection containing 2 GET requests, one of which requires values A and D, and the other which requires fields A, B, C, and D. How do I structure the data file in order to test the first request with a certain set of values, and the second request with a second set of values?

Like, if I have:

A B C D
1 1
2 2
3 3
1 10 95 1
2 20 85 5
4 30 75 6

How can I ensure that only the first three rows are used to test the first request and that only the last three rows are used to test the second request?

Hey @jeremy-bao :wave:

Welcome to the Postman Community! :postman:

What’s currently happening when you run the Collection now? Are you able to share the actual request and how you’re using those variables?

If you have no reference to the other fields in the datafile, within the requests, it’s not going to pick up those values.

I’m looking at this in a very basic sense and you may have other things going on in those requests or the Collection. If you’re not using the variable in the request, it’s not going to be used.

So here A would only be used in the First Request:

First Request:

{
    "property_1": "{{A}}",
    "property_2": "{{B}}",
    "property_3": "{{C}}"
}

Second Request:

{
    "property_2": "{{B}}",
    "property_3": "{{C}}",
    "property_4": "{{D}}"
}

I don’t have a collection that is using a data file currently. I am trying to figure out how to do that.