Body file variable substitution

I’m an old programmer, ask me about COBOL sometime!
But I’m new to postman.

Is there a way to get postman to do variable substitution(s) when reading the request body from an external file?
I may be missing something very simple or painfully obvious, so any help would be appreciated.

Details are as follows:

I have a post request that uses two variables defined in the environment:

1. the post URL uses the variable {{theURL}} to send the request to one of many servers
  2. the body uses the other variable {{myIP}} to forward the application GUI back to my PC

When I included the body in the request as a (raw) and the request functions as I expect.
The data is sent to the server specified by my environment variable {{theURL}}
The application forwards the GUI replies back to my PC using the enviroment variable {{myIP}}
The world is good.

I take the body text and put it into an external file, lets call it fred.json
I change the postman body to (binary), press select file, and select fred.json.
When I run this request thru postman it goes to the server specified by {{theURL}}
The application runs, but the GUI is not forwarded to my PC.

I edit fred.json and replace the variable {{myIP}} with the environment value, and save the file.
I run this request thru postman again.
It is sent to the correct server specified by {{theURL}}
The application runs and the GUI is now forwarded to my PC.

It looks to me like the external file is not being processed for any variable substitutions.

Thanks

Hi @dmhunter,

I don’t believe variable substitution happens on file-based request bodies.

Is it possible to include the contents of the file as a raw body in Postman with a JSON type? Variable substitution will happen with that approach.

Best,

Kevin

Kevin,

That was how I determined that the variable substitution actually worked in the first place.
I described that process in the first part of my posting.