Testing multiple user credentials - unauthorized 401 error

New here and using Postman for Troubleshooting API customer calls. So I am not a developer, these are tried and tested APIs in use and never usually have issues.

The errors being experienced are unique to support staff such as myself where it is common to switch within Postman to different user keys and secrets for OAUTH. I know that you can clear cache, clear open tabs, and clear the contents of the APIKEY field in the environment.

However, even after these steps when you OAUTH and run the API for a different customer there is the failure because somewhere the APIKEY being used is still the same KEY from the previous test.

The only way to stop this I have found so far is to paste the KEY for the current customer you are testing into the Environment APIKEY field and then try again.

In spite of the fact it appears that the APIKEY is not still cached anywhere the previously used Key is still being used, which I can also see when tracing the connection in Apigee.

Hopefully there is some way to force the contents of the APIKEY field to actually clear, any suggestions?

Hey @apy2k :wave:

Welcome to the Postman community! :postman:

Do you know if you have a variable of the same name, in a different scope (Collection/Global/Environment)?

Are there any variables being used within any of the Auth Helpers that might be being inherited by the percent?

It would be good to get some visual examples (masking the sensitive data) of what you have in place in the Collection to try and get to the bottom of the problem.

Thank you Danny, I will try and post what is helpful, bear with me if the info doesn’t help enough.

What I have is an Environment where the following should I presume populate from the OAUTH:
apikey
token

The OAUTH takes the key and secret and I see the usual successful messages returning things like the user email etc confirming this is the right account.