Send PUT command but keep some existing paramters

Hi there, I’m totally new to all of this. I found one thread which had some pointers, but didn’t answer all my questions (or I didn’t interpret it properly…) (Add parameter to JSON Body PUT Request while retaining parameters from GET request)

In a nutshell, i’m trying to control my air conditioner remotley. At the moment I’m using webooks and IFTTT. It works perfectly. I can turn it on/off change temp etc.

The only issue I have is to do with zones. The command to change zones is "enabledZones":[1,0,1,0,0,0,0,0]}} in that example, zone 1/3 are on and all others are off.

The issue I have is when sending the put command I have to fill in all the data. If I want to turn on zone 4, for example, I need a way to send [X,X,X,1,X,X,X,X] where the X represents “leave this zone in whatver mode it already is” and the only change is the fourth one… I have no idea how to do this / if its possible. I was hoping there would be some sort of special character that would help me out… haha.

Incase it helps, when I run a GET command this is what it spits out:

{"result":1,"error":null,"id":0,"data":{"vid":2,"did":5,"device_type":"airconditioner","default_name":"Air Conditioner Zones","tags":"aircon","is_sensor":1,"is_actuator":1,"is_silent":0,"has_time_series":0,"has_subdevice_count":0,"has_state":0,"gid":"0","node":"*************","shortName":"Air Conditioner Zones","meta":{},"subDevices":{},"last_data":{"DA":[1,1,1,0,0,0,0,0],"timestamp":1603774102115}}}

Hey @M575,
I’m assuming you want to read the current state from the response, and let’s say the DA key has the current state then you might want to set it as a variable in your Postman Test Scripts as
pm.globals.set("zones", pm.response.json().data.last_data.DA)

In another request, maybe the PUT request, in the pre-request script you can simply access by

modifiedZones = pm.variables.get("zones")
//Say I want to set zone 3 and let the rest be