A few questions regarding the runner, collection variables, and data files

Hi, I am a complete noob to this stuff so I apologize ahead of time. I am using Postman version: 7.2.0

1. Let’s say I have a collection and I have a POST and a GET. One to post a username and location, and one to get all users. I want the username to be unique.

POST payload just takes

user: “username”,

So, I edit collections and put in variable “username” with value user{$timestamp}.

In the body of my request, do I simply do:

username: “{username}”,

It seems like it’s not working. I have tried without quotes and with quotes. Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?

1. Let’s say I get the above to work. Now, in my GET usernames, I’d like to search for that specific user that was a dynamic value.

Would it be correct in using the “test” tab of the POST request and do something like:

pm.globals.set(“usernameToSearch”, pm.variables.get({{username}}));

Now would I be able to do the GET request and in its “test” tab put in an assertion like:

pm.test(“username is in response”, function () {
pm.expect(pm.response.text()).to.include(postman.getGlobalVariable(“usernameToSearch”));
});

1. What happens when I start the runner and want to run this using that and a data file instead?

If I wanted to test 3 usernames, how would I do this? Everything remains the same and just create a csv to upload?

Would the CSV be:

username,location
username{$timestamp},location123
username{$timestamp},location456
username{$timestamp},location789

1. What if I want to assert for the username and location.

Would it be:

pm.expect(pm.response.text()).to.include(data.username);
});

pm.expect(pm.response.text()).to.include(data.location));
});

1. If that is correct, now that I leave the runner and run the steps manually, would the assertion still work? Is it looking at the data file still? Or is it now looking at the variables that I had set in the collection?